Grandma Mable’s Coleslaw


I enjoy this coleslaw, and the title says it all. It’s the slaw my dear late grandmother used to make.

You’ll Need:
Sugar (equal parts to vinegar)
Cider Vinegar (equal parts to sugar)
Mayonnaise/Dressing of Choice
Cabbage, shredded
Carrots, shredded, approximately 2 carrots per half head of cabbage (optional)

Why don’t I have measurements… well, that’s because like my grandmother, I simply don’t measure too many of my ingredients (which makes blogging these recipes a bit of a challenge sometimes). LOL. Not nice, I know, but I’m being honest. I would recommend you start with ~1 cup mayonnaise and add 1/4 cup sugar and vinegar. Mix it together and give it a taste. If it’s thick, add more sugar and vinegar. If it’s too runny, add more mayonnaise. If it tastes tart, it needs more sugar. Likewise, if it tastes too sweet, add more vinegar. Once the dressing is perfected you can pour it over the shredded cabbage and carrots, mix and go. It gets better with time, so prepare ahead and refrigerate it for a day or two. Enjoy! 🙂

2 responses to “Grandma Mable’s Coleslaw

  1. Pingback: Grandma Mable’s Creamy Cucumbers | HomeGrown Organics: Gainesville

  2. Pingback: Kale and Cabbage Coleslaw | HomeGrown Organics: Gainesville

Leave a Reply

