Apples and Cabbage

The last time I had sauteed apples and cabbage I was in Ireland – so fitting.  My mom made it for a group dinner one night and not a shred was left.  With half a head of cabbage and 2 granny smith apples in the fridge, I decided to make this simple side dish.

First, I saute the cabbage and apples in a small bit of butter until the cabbage has wilted.  Next I add some chicken broth (you can use veggie broth) to keep the mixture moist.  Make sure to add salt and pepper to taste and cook the dish for a loooong time.  I cook it until its really, really tender and the apples have pretty much disintegrated.

Is such a yummy, sweet dish!

Leave a Reply

