Harvest Squash Bread

I am really in the mood for bread today and also really want to use my acorn squash.  An internet search led me to this great acorn bread from The Knead for Bread (the photo is also borrowed from their site).  The recipe uses roasted maple brown sugar acorn squash, whole wheat flour, and flax seed.  This site has a step-by-step tutorial.

It does take a bit of forethought – the yeast mixture has to sit for about 16 hours on the counter.   I’m about to start by setting out the “day before” ingredients.  Since the recipe only calls for one cup of roasted squash, I’ll roast it later for dinner, reserving a cup of squash.  I’ll check back tomorrow and let you know how it goes!

3 responses to “Harvest Squash Bread

  1. Thanks Jen! I’m SO going to try this. It might be Friday before I have a chance, but I’ll be trying this. I have ALL of the ingredients ready to go. 🙂 Thanks for posting the idea.

  2. Pingback: Roasted Beet Bread | HomeGrown Organics: Gainesville

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Harvest Loaf | HomeGrown Organics: Gainesville

Leave a Reply

