Pumpkin Harvest Loaf

I couldn’t help but be inspired by Jen’s post Harvest Squash Bread and had to give it a try, with a few minor adjustments. Lucky for me, Jen brought a sample of the bread using the original recipe. We discussed the likes and dislikes of the bread, which made adjustments easier to identify.

Here are the changes I made to the recipe:
1. I used half Whole Wheat Flour and half Unbleached White Bread Flour.
2. I added a handful of Sugar (maybe 1/4 of a cup) on day 2. Honey will also work.
3. I added 2.5 cups of Rosemary Roasted Pumpkin. (See below for recipe.)
4. I created a warm and moist environment for the final day 2 rising step by microwaving 2 cups of water until it started to boil. I then moved it to one side of the microwave and placed the pan (with dough in it) into the microwave and closed the door.
5. I baked it for 30 minutes like the recipe called for, but the loaves could have baked for at least another 10 minutes.

Changes 1 and 2 allowed the dough to rise more, creating loaves that are not as dense as the original recipe. Change #3 added a nice flavor to the loaves as well as more moisture. Change #4 allowed the dough to rise as the author describes.  In hindsite, I should have done this for both rises.

I prepared these loaves today and took one with me to dance at church tonight. I offered it to the kids with a raspberry jelly on the side. They didn’t care too much about the jelly, but they sure devoured the loaf! Now I’m thankful this recipe makes 2 loaves!!! 🙂

Rosemary Roasted Pumpkin Recipe:
Prepare the pumpkin according to Jen’s post, Don’t Fear the Pumpkin: Just Roast It!,  adding 2-3 sprigs of fresh rosemary (chopped) to the pan.

One response to “Pumpkin Harvest Loaf

  1. I’m so glad you posted the “fixes”. I still ate most of my acorn harvest bread, but it was so so dense. Your’s looks fantastic. I’m on to the beet bread tomorrow! Definitely using your fixes.

Leave a Reply

