Orange and Purple Mashed Potatoes

As far as I’m concerned, orange cauliflower (or cheddar cauliflower, as its sometimes called) tastes the same as the original white variety – its just a bit more interesting.   When I have the colored variety of something ordinary, like orange cauliflower or purple potatoes, I feel that I must cook a dish that takes advantage of its unique color.

Last night I made a colorful dinner thinking that my kids might like the colors and be more willing to try the food: Roasted and Mashed Potatoes and Orange Cauliflower, Roasted Purple Mashed Potatoes with Parmesan, Kale and Chicken.

As you can see, the meal is colorful and tasted great.  The kids, however, wouldn’t have known what it tasted like, as my plan to lure the kids with color backfired.  They ate the chicken – only.   As far as they were concerned, the usual beige mush is scary enough – never mind orange and purple.  Looking at the photo, I agree that presentation could have been a bit more visually appealing.  I’ll give you the general directions anyway (because they really did taste great).  Maybe your kids will be a bit more adventurous than mine.

Roasted and Mashed Potatoes and Orange Cauliflower

I peeled 6 yukon gold potatoes and shook them in a bag with minced garlic, salt, pepper, and olive oil.  I did the same with the purple potatoes, but left the skin on.  I cut off the cauliflower florets and also shook them in a zip-lock the same way I did the potatoes.  I put them in a roaster at 400 degrees for about 30-45 minutes or until they were tender.

I put the Yukon Gold potatoes and cauliflower into a bowl with butter, sour cream, cheddar cheese, salt and pepper – all to taste.  Using a stick blender, I mashed everything in the bowl together.   These taste like pretty traditional mashed potatoes.  You could add gravy, bacon, chives, or anything else you think sounds good.

Roasted Purple Mashed Potatoes

I haven’t used purple potatoes before, but quickly found out that purple potatoes taste sweeter than their yellow counterparts – not in a bad way, just a bit sweeter than I like my mash.

I placed the roasted purple potatoes in a separate bowl, adding butter and a bit of sour cream.  I used the stick blender to mash the mixture until it was smooth.  Feel free to mash them anyway you’d like.  I added some good parmesan cheese (not the powdery kind) and some extra salt – both to taste – and called it a day.  I think another tasty variation would be to sprinkle goat cheese on top.  I love goat cheese.

One response to “Orange and Purple Mashed Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Making Soup Fun… and Kid-Friendly Part 2 | HomeGrown Organics: Gainesville

Leave a Reply

